Core Faculty

Avatar

Binod Sreenivasan

Professor & Chair

bsreeni@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-3470

+91-80-2293-3401

Dynamo theory and models, Planetary magnetism, Magnetohydrodynamics, Vortex dynamics

Avatar

Prosenjit Ghosh

Professor

pghosh@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-3403

Paleoclimatology, Isotope Geochemistry Geobiology, Isotope Hydrology, Climate-Tectonics Interaction

Avatar

Sajeev Krishnan

Professor

sajeev@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-3404

Metamorphic geology, Petrology, Geochemistry, Thermodynamics, In-situ micro-chronology, Tectonics

Avatar

Ramananda Chakrabarti

Associate Professor

ramananda@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-3003

Radiogenic and non-traditional stable isotopes, Proxy development, Igneous, sedimentary, and aqueous geochemistry, Impact cratering and cosmochemistry

Avatar

Attreyee Ghosh

Associate Professor

aghosh@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-2448

Lithosphere Dynamics, Mantle Convection

Avatar

Sambuddha Misra

Assistant Professor

sambuddha@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-2027

Paleoclimate Reconstruction, Evolution of Seawater and River Chemistry, Non-traditional Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Reactive Trasport of Environmental Pollutants (Metals and Metalloids)

Avatar

Pawan Bharadwaj

Assistant Professor

pawan@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-2633

geophysical signal processing, earthquake seismology, wave-equation based imaging, seismic interferometry, scientific machine learning

Affiliated Faculty

Avatar

Bramha Dutt Vishwakarma

Assistant Professor (Joint Appointment with Interdisciplinary Centre For Water Research)

bramha@iisc.ac.in  

Climate change, Hydroclimatic extremes, Remote sensing

Associate Faculty

Avatar

C. S. Manohar

Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Science

manohar@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-3121

Earthquake Engineering, Aseismic Reliability, Structural Health Monitoring, Structural Dynamics

Avatar

D Nagesh Kumar

Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Science

nagesh@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-2666

Climate Hydrology, Remote Sensing and GIS Applications, Water Resources Systems

Avatar

Debasis Sengupta

Professor, Centre for Atmospheric and Ocean Sciences, Indian Institute of Science

dsen@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-360-0450

Physics of the Indian Ocean, Tropical Air-Sea Interaction, Predictability of Ocean and Climate, Ocean Modeling

Avatar

Pradeep Mujumdar

Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Science

pradeep@iisc.ac.in   +91-80-2293-2669

Climate Change Impacts on Hydrology, Water Resources Systems, Water Quality Control in Streams, Large Scale Reservoir Systems, Urban Flooding, Applications of Bayesian Decision Theory, Fuzzy and Grey Systems and AI tools in Water Resources Modeling

Former Faculty

Avatar

Kusala Rajendran

Professor of Seismology

kusala@iisc.ac.in  

Adjunct Faculty

Avatar

Dirk Smit

Vice President of Research Strategy, Chairman Shell Science Council and Chief Scientist Geophysics

dirk.smit@shell.com  

Avatar

James Connolly

Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, ETH Zürich

james.connolly@erdw.ethz.ch